Bucket List for this Trip: Part 1

London:

-stand by the Queen’s Guard outside Buckingham Palace

-look up to Big Ben as the clock strikes midnight

Paris:

-eat a nutella and banana crepe

-devour a French baguette with Roquefort, Munster, Gruyere, Brie, etc. cheeses. Mmm…take me there now!

-climb to the top of the Eiffel Tower and take in the expansive view of Paris from this iconic standpoint. 

Berlin:

-eat at Unsicht-Bar where I will dine in the dark

-enjoy bratwurst, spatzle, schnitzel, sauerkraut, etc. while washing it all down with a tall mug of quintessential German beer. 

Florence:

-attend a Calcio Fiorentino match which is a brutal, early form of football. I consider it a blend of soccer, football, rugby, and MMA. Sounds like a great combination (click here for a short video: http://vimeo.com/25512336)

Siena, Italy:

-watch Il Palio. This event is a horse race among the city districts with men riding bareback through the city square (this video will give you an idea. Notice the horses that lose their jockeys and continue riding: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGF5P0QtnnE)

Cinque Terre, Italy:

-Not many will know this by name but will easily recognize it from a travel magazine. The “Five Lands” rest along the Italian Rivera and have ornate houses that cover the full spectrum of the rainbow. These homes hang off the cliffs and tempt the crystal clear blue water of the Mediterranean below that they may enter its grasp. (Truly a breathtaking site: http://images4.fanpop.com/image/photos/22200000/Cinque-Terre-italy-22260554-2272-1704.jpg)

Venice:

-get lost in the city that floats on water and is basically a huge maze. Who wouldn’t want to find themselves astray in a foreign city? It bet it will be a great story no matter where I find myself

Pamplona, Spain:

-run down the city streets of a Spanish town while 2000 pound bulls charge from behind. Sounds like a good time.

Barcelona, Spain:

-play pick-up futbol wherever I can find a game and feel less about myself as I get my ass handed to me by the Spanish players. 

-head to Camp Nou to see where one of the best club teams in the world play and wish I was there for game day. 

Bonus: World Cup 2014 Brazil

-Although I cannot watch the greatest competition on earth from the comfort of my home, I will be stopping in nearby bars, pubs, cafes, and beer gardens along the way to catch up on the action and enjoy some delicious beers and wine with locales. Most people are drawn to Europe to take in all the historical sites, buildings, museum artifacts, and old world cuisine (which do not get me wrong because I am going to soak up all that history and some) but what I look forward to most is interacting with people of a different culture, language, customs, way of life, etc. and have that common understanding which may seem impossible on the surface. 

COUNTDOWN: FORTY DAYS till I depart for an adventure that will never be forgotten.

 

Leave a Reply

