Down Under Day 37: Game of Thrones

I woke up early to Skype family and friends and felt as if I were at home with them except for the huge temperature difference. Today I had the honor of cleaning a couple toilets at the hostel so try to contain your jealousy. While cleaning the fridge, I did not find the same culinary bounty as I had the day before but I did manage to uncover two forgotten pale ales that needed a home; being the abiding citizen of the world that I am, I welcomed them with open arms. Per usual, I completed my two and a half hours in a sweat storm, not to be outdone by any challenger. During the afternoon, I got a doctor’s appointment and completed some further trip planning. Apparently the Tropic Days hostel and its sister hostel would be having a staff BBQ night. Trying to mix things up, I bought ingredients for a salad I would prepare. I used techniques my mom had taught me to make an Italian salad of cucumbers, fresh, ripe tomatoes, white onions, and dressing. A clear plus of this miserable heat has been fresh, quality produce seen everyday. Obviously, I had to put my own spin on it with feta, kalamata olives, carrot shavings, and lettuce. Being the newbie, it was great to meet everyone else officially. Being a big football fan, I talked to a cool Englishman about the sport and the huge differences between it and the American sports the U.S. cherishes. Possibly due to a fear of vegetables, my salad sat there lonely on the table; no worries, more for me. Talking with all of these quote unquote strangers, mainly one on one or in small groups, my confidence has soared exponentially. What a beautiful thing it is to feel comfortable in your own skin. As we joined together as one large group for quiz night, I got less talkative, less involved. As much progress as I have made, I know I have so much more to work on. Even when I am not tramping around country after country and rather stuck in one spot for awhile, I still face my fair share of challenges. Having confidence in yourself regardless of the circumstance does not come easy or overnight. These types of situations are a prime reason why I want to travel and travel longer. A short holiday in another country can broaden one’s perspective but truly immersing myself into what I am doing and isolating myself from the safety of what I know will sprout the changes and growth that I yearn for within myself. As much as I like to be philosophical, I will return to where I left off. As I have learned, the English like their quiz or trivia nights. Typically they will have these at pubs on mostly weekday nights when the atmosphere is a bit more subdued. I remember seeing them in London a couple times while I was there. The night was quite relaxed, joking around and the fact that my two beers were free didn’t hurt either. After people began leaving, I departed as well into my cave for a cool night’s sleep.

2 thoughts on “Down Under Day 37: Game of Thrones

  1. “The strongest oak of the forest is not the one that is protected from the storm and hidden from the sun. It’s the one that stands in the open where it is compelled to struggle for its existence against the winds and rains and the scorching sun.”
    –Napoleon Hill

Leave a Reply

