Down Under Day 39: Let’s Get Medicated

The day began like any other as I got all overly intimate with the toilets and such. After getting released to my own pursuits, I made the trek to the doctor’s office for my appointment to get some vaccinations. Not gonna lie, I did a fair amount of researching to save whatever buck I could. Emails to all medical centers and pharmacists were not a waste; my dirty work saved me possibly 50 dollars at least. Luckily, I did not need as many shots and medication as I initially projected, just typhoid and hepatitis A shots and a few boxes of malaria pills. Afterwards, I took a walk down to the Esplanade and passed some native rainforest-like trees. Within this tight bundle of wood and leaves rested thousands of bats, all of them wrapping themselves with their wide wings. Honestly, I struggled to find a free branch as each limb lay occupied. The only highlight of the walk were the boulders. Little did I know there is a sport called bouldering. It is very much like rock climbing but with boulders. At no point would I be more than three meters of the ground but with various placements of the holdings, it is no easy task. As part of Cairns’ health initiative they have many outdoor activities. Once a week, experienced climbers will teach bouldering. The Esplanade even has some free fitness equipment available for use. Back at the hostel lagoon, I got to the rare American and a Kiwi about my less than exciting day. They were particularly entertained by my story of driving the Maori. Speaking of Americans, a girl from Columbus, Ohio is staying at the hostel; what are the odds? Tonight the hostel had an Aussie BBQ night that I decided to work; free food + a little cash on the side = no brainer. The spread was ridiculous; kangaroo, emu, crocodile, fish, salad, pasta and potato salad, and a cold Corona. All this bloke had to do was help wash dishes and put everything way. To end the night, we were entertained by a didgeridoo competition to find out who was the best blower. A didgeridoo is a wind instrument developed by native Australians or Aborigines and has quite a unique sound. All in all, another solid day at Tropic Days.

Leave a Reply

