Lessons Learned While Globetrotting (Part 2)

Traveling is straight up addicting. Although most travelers are on their first travel adventure traveling by way of the working holiday experience, a fair amount have regaled me with their stories of their other travels whether it be backpacking through South America, the United States, Central America, Europe, or wherever else in the world. Once you start traveling, it is hard to stop, something that lives in every bone of your body and every breath you take. You might be thinking that I am being pretentious and rather foolish because at the end of the day who doesn’t want to travel. You would be half right but how many people want to venture off without the security of a friend or a tour guide walking with them every step of the way? How many can live without the comforts of home, without a nice bed in their own room, without four star hotel accommodation, without a good meal three times a day for days on end? How many are willing to adapt to the changes that will naturally occur while on the road? How many can handle being alone, being away from all that they know for a long period of time? A true backpacker is not just on a holiday, he or she is on a mission to see and explore all that the world has to offer, even the little gems that are tucked away off the beaten path, and do so even if it means scrapping by to make it happen. I am not trying to sound arrogant or accusative but hoping to make a distinction that does in fact exist. As much as I have traveled in a short period of time, I am still very much a rookie and do not yet know how far those truths go. I am learning that it is a lifelong passion that can’t escape me. I want to see the pyramids of Egypt, I want to climb atop Machu Picchu, I want to lay down and stare up at the fully dark sky as the Northern Lights fill the expanse above me, I want to eat wild, bizarre things, I want to meet new and exciting people with different points of view, and I want to not just want it, I want to actually experience it. Not saying I will one day do it or offhandedly expressing it would be neat to see it. It is a curiosity about the world that I hope to continue to explore whether out in foreign lands or in my own backyard. I am in pursuit of the Global Degree and the lessons that come with it. For me it goes back to a quote from ‘Dead Poets Society’. John Keating stands upon his desk looking down at his students to remind them that “we must constantly look at things in a different way”. While traveling about, parts of my soul that have been hibernating for some time are being reawakened.

3 thoughts on “Lessons Learned While Globetrotting (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

