Lessons Learned While Globetrotting (Part 5)

From time to time I miss home dearly but then I realize how great of an opportunity I have before me. How many people genuinely envision themselves in far off lands only seen in the news and on the web? How many people are willing to then buy that ticket that will take them there, pack up their bags, and remove themselves from their family, friends, and home, longer than most would find tolerable? I’m here as crazy as that sounds. I owe it to those wavering souls that can’t quite get themselves here, excuses filling their minds rather than the knowledge and wonder that comes with travel. Most importantly, I owe it to myself. At times, I waver in my determination to continue, unsure if I can handle Myanmar and its unpaved path. After taking a step back and, more purposefully, taking a deep breath, I look around and see how far I’ve come. Not too long ago I was scared beyond belief to even buy that plane ticket to London for Europe and now look how far I’ve come. Even when frustration and despair hits an all time high due to the various circumstances that will naturally unfold, I will not quit on myself. I want this more than anything. What this is I don’t yet know but I will put all my heart and soul into discovering it. As young as I may be, I am finding out quite quickly how tricky life can be. But then again it doesn’t have to be that way. Maybe I am the only one and you can call me ignorant, frankly I don’t care, but once the idea of ‘real life’ hit me I was scared more than I thought a human being could feel. The idea of limiting myself to watching the latest stock market prices, building a career and advancing all my ‘opportunities’, finding a job in an ‘unstable market’, looking forward to my one to two weeks off per year, and not having one f$&@ing clue what I wanted to do with my life made me sick. We are all trying to find our fit in this world whether we care to admit it or not. I sure don’t know what mine is but I will hopefully get there through trial and error by making mistakes in pursuit of what drives me forward, i.e. my passions in life. After getting this deep, I’m not sure how to end a post like this so I guess I will leave you with a couple quotes from one of my favorite movies of all time, The Dead Poets Society.
John Keating: Boys, you must strive to find your own voice. Because the longer you wait to begin, the less likely you are to find it at all. Thoreau said, “Most men lead lives of quiet desperation.” Don’t be resigned to that. Break out!
John Keating: Now we all have a great need for acceptance, but you must trust that your beliefs are unique, your own, even though others may think them odd or unpopular, even though the herd may go, [imitating a goat] “that’s baaaaad.” Robert Frost said, “Two roads diverged in the wood and I, I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference.”

Leave a Reply

