Thailand Day 83: Last Day in Thailand, Onto Myanmar

The minibus picked me up from Tiffy’s Cafe and dropped me off at Phuket airport around 11:30 am even though my flight wouldn’t leave until 9 pm. It was not the way I would have liked to spend my day but only an expensive taxi could have gotten me there later. Flying out of Phuket has burned a hole in my pocket but I had to get out of the country as soon as possible since my visa actually expired yesterday. In moments like this, when I am sitting at an airport with only my own thoughts to occupy me before I enter the most expensive country to visit in SE Asia and probably the most stressful due to it only having been opened up since 2010, I question my will to continue. I hate to admit it but traveling like this can be so bloody tiresome. I have gotten quite exhausted from the lack of sleep due to cheap accommodation or night buses, always being on the go, dealing with a variety of circumstances that are out of my control, etc. The list never truly ends. Because of all that, I can get so weighed down by all the little things that continue to pile up. I am only human but making travel errors such as overpaying for something or miscalculating my travel schedule have found a way to eat away at me. I am trying so hard to stay strong. A small part of me wants to show everyone that it can be done but mostly I want to prove to myself that I can survive everything that life can throw at me. I chose SE Asia for the challenges it would bring and already I have met several. Fingers crossed that I can continue to weather the storm because the seas will only get choppier and more murky from here on out. The comforts of home sound like paradise right now but I have a mission in place that I don’t plan on quitting. Life may be able to throw me around like a rag doll battering me till I should not have anything left but I will pick myself back up, take that step forward and charge on. The trials of travel are numerous. Maybe I need to slow down but I always have to consider the next move, city, or sticky situation. What I would give to have one day to not think of anything. A clear, peaceful mind; what a beautiful gift that would be. With my countless hours of spare time to kill at the airport, I exchanged Thai Baht into U.S. dollars since it is the currency of choice in Myanmar for temples and hotels, amongst other things. Hopefully, the amount of U.S. coin I bring in will be enough to go along with the Burmese kyat I pull out in Myanmar. I am not sure if I am ready for Myanmar but soon enough I will be there one way or another. On a more positive note, if I can manage to pass through security and immigration with my scruff, I think I may finally commit myself to growing a real man beard. Who knows if my chops and whiskers are capable of such a task but I will give it a shot. After hanging out in Burger King for awhile soaking up some wi-fi, I got onto my flight to Singapore for an overnight stay in their airport before launching my next flight to Yangon, the largest city in Myanmar.

6 thoughts on “Thailand Day 83: Last Day in Thailand, Onto Myanmar

  1. Sorry Anthony I have been off the grid! One can clear the mind even for just a few moments at a time if one chooses. Do not underestimate the importance of sleep! There’s plenty of research showing that chronic sleep deprivation contributes to health problems including immune system, memory loss, high blood pressure on and on! Some recent research indicates that during sleep genes turn on that repair the myelin surrounding nerve cells while chronic sleep deprivation can switch on genes that cause cell injury. Memories from the day’s activities are mapped in the brain as we sleep. Stay well.

    Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.
    Buddha

    Sleep is the best meditation.
    Dalai Lama

Leave a Reply

