Lessons Learned While Globetrotting (Part 7)

Time is on my side. I have the luxury to slow down and stay as long as I choose. Travelers on their two to three week holiday don’t have the time to stop and meditate at a monastery like I had in Myanmar or lounge around for a day at a riverside bungalow since they are always on the go to fit as much into their schedule as they can. I know people that are zipping through SE Asia seeing all the main sights like Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Angkor Wat, Halong Bay, Ho Chi Minh City, etc., which is fine and all but I have enjoyed and will continue to embrace the slower pace that means soaking up the smaller, lesser touristy places off the beaten path that reveal the reality of a country and its peoples. Even though I may only be in a country for a month at a time, I relish attempting to get as close to the heart of how each country represents themselves. During my time in Europe thus far, I traveled through Italy most extensively seeing Venice, Naples, Rome, and Florence, as well as some smaller spots such as Cinque Terre and Lake Garda, but I can’t say for certain that I know the country all that well. Luckily for me this time around, I can play the game of time vs. money since I have been blessed with the almighty currency of time. Staying at that monastery for instance cost me nothing and enriched me with a new fresh breath of life to see and try to cleanse myself of my flaws, which are never too far away. I realized how much of my mind has been left untouched and that I have so much more potential for insight and the ability to go beyond what was once thought my peak, my plateau. 

Leave a Reply

