Expecting the Unexpected in India Day 260: Red Fort and Humayun’s Tomb

Left hostel in the late morning after catching up with Joe from back home via Skype and tried my best to not leave the confines of the A/C nirvana

Cycle richshaw to tomb, Indian/foreigner pricing system 
First stop Humayun’s Tomb via the lovely metro
First tomb security guard acted like tour guide and wanted a tip: money is involved with everything in India, didn’t tip
Tomb and garden was a marvel of construction, got help with taking some pictures after my attempts at selfies, most people simply have no idea how to take a picture, most Indians turn it a 45 degree angle
Not too much to see inside
Went to a mosque through some long winding narrow alleyways on this Friday the day of prayer for Muslims that I didn’t fully realize at the time getting guided by people along the way
I continued walking unsure of myself whether I would get mugged around one random turn
I had to take off my shoes and wear one of the Islamic caps before entering the holy place
They tried to get me to buy flowers and other donation items but I can’t be bothered anymore with that stuff, I prize my money
I didn’t feel welcomed at all inside the mosque
As soon as I entered I expected the pointing fingers would direct me towards the center temple but each one were forcefully trying to convince me to leave through the way I had come
I continued on caring not one bit about their desires
I am too used to Sikhs who will welcome you with open arms
I don’t know why I haven’t had any good relations with Muslims yet but I am determined to change their minds or rather see the good in these people, I may just have to look harder
One man that spoke English guided me to the center holy place but not the main room since I only had shorts with me and not full length pants in this dreadful heat
I observed them throw flowers onto the tomb or something or other while praying and bowing to the floor and tomb
After too quick of time the guy asked for a donation of course which I kept minimal (insulting or not to them I frankly can’t care too much about it; if it some people’s choice they would bleed me for all I am worth; not everyone is like this, rather the small minority are but damn their presence I felt everywhere I go)
I was directed to where I could see more of the complex by the man but once I left his sights everyone wanted me to get the hell out of there
Sure they were praying but it wasn’t like I was the only one around trying to work my way through
It was like a game of Mario in which people were bobbing up and down from a standing prayer to touching their foreheads to the floor
They wanted me to continue on but people were coming in the opposite direction opposing what was already a difficult task
I don’t know what they wanted me to do, fly over them?
I ate some samosas and found out the cheap way to get around by taking the local bus to the metro station

Went off to Red Fort since I had time, so many touts and begging drivers slapping their seat for a ride
Red Fort unimpressive: it was a radiant red from the outside with its sandstone material but fell short of my expectations
Some nice buildings and gardens within but not worth the trip
Chatted with some guys from Punjab about girls, life, and my account of India; Indians love to engage with foreigners and I was more than willing to oblige with my humorous tales and opinions
After leaving Red Fort I once again heard so many touts but one would not leave as much as I tried. He said don’t worry about the money he just wanted to help out
He showed me past the Jama Masjid mosque, largest in India, which I will visit tomorrow then through parts of Chandni Chowk bazaars, alleyways, and marketplaces before reaching the famous Karim’s
Food was good but far overpriced, I need to ditch this oil and ghee binge that Indians adore in their food; fat ass naan bread, good lord
He led me through more bazaar tight fitting streets of Old Delhi back to the metro station trying to say he can show me where to buy certain items but I buy nothing as far as souvenirs go for me or anyone else, can’t carry and most things are frankly cheap pieces of junk
At the metro I gave him a small tip that was far far below his expectations but the thing is I f$&@ing when people take me around when I emphasize to them I don’t need a guide and no money will be coming their way but they refuse to accept that as a result
India is challenging, you always have to be on your toes and can’t relax for one second
With everyone speaking some English, everyone has something to say
Had some jelabi which is convincing me I need to give up sugar
Back at hostel I relaxed by watching Slumdog Millionaire to get my new take on the movie after being in the country for nearly one and a half months

Leave a Reply

